Greek gods.

The Greeks were polytheistic in their religious beliefs. Polytheistic means they believed in and worshiped many different gods. In Greek mythology, the gods often represented different forms of nature. Their religion/mythology had no formal structure with the exception of various festivals held in honor of the gods. There was no sacred book or code of conduct to live by. The most powerful Greek gods were known as the Olympians. The Greeks believed the Olympians lived on the highest mountain in Greece, Mount Olympus. The Olympian gods included: Zeus, Hera, Apollo, Aphrodite, Ares, Artemis, Athena, Demeter, Hades, Hermes, Hephaestus, Poseidon and Hestia or later she was replaced in some lists by Dionysus.

Major Gods and Godesses of Greek Mythology

Zeus – King of the Gods
Hera – Queen of the Gods
Aphrodite – goddess of love and beauty
Apollo – god of light, truth, healing, archery, music, poetry
Ares – god of war
Artemis – goddess of hunt, moon, children
Athena – goddess of wisdom, war, patriotism and good citizenship
Demeter – goddess of grain, agriculture, fertility
Dionysus – god of wine, vegetation, and theater
Hades – god of the underworld
Hephaestus – god of forge and fire
Hermes – messenger of the gods, god of motion, travelers, commerce, thieves, and sheep
Hestia – goddess of the hearth and home
Poseidon – god of the sea, earthquakes, and horses


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: